Boarding Term Dates

HOLIDAY DATES – 2016/17 and 2017/18

 

Spring Term 2017
Boarders return Tuesday 3rd January by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.
Term starts Wednesday 4th January.
Please note this is NOT a misprint.Tuesday 3rd is a training day for staff.

Term ends Friday 17th February.

Boarders may leave after lessons on Thursday 16th or during the day on the 17th if their journey requires considerable travelling.

Boarders return Sunday 26th February by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.
Term starts Monday 27th February.

Term ends Friday 7th April.

Boarders may leave after lessons on Thursday 6th or during the day on the 7th if their journey requires considerable travelling.

Summer Term 2017
Boarders return Sunday 23rd April by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.
Term starts Monday 24th April.

Half Term
Term ends Friday 26th May.
Boarders may leave after lessons on Thursday 25th or during the day on the 26th if their journey requires considerable travelling.

Boarders return Sunday 4th June by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.
Term starts Monday 5th June.
Term ends Friday 21st July.

Please see below.

Year 11 & 13 students may leave as soon as their last exam is finished. Please ensure they check their exam timetable thoroughly before booking flights.

Year 12 students who are not returning in Year 13 may also leave after their last exam.

Years 7, 8, 9 and 12 students may leave on or after Wednesday 19th July BUT NOT BEFORE. Adams House will close at 1pm on Friday 21st July.

Parents are requested to adhere to holiday dates – failure to do so will seriously affect your child’s education and may result in them being withdrawn from certain subjects/examinations.

 

HOLIDAY DATES – 2017/2018

Autumn Term 2017
Boarders return Tuesday 5th September by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.
Term starts Wednesday 6th September.
Please note this is NOT a misprint.
Monday 4th and Tuesday 5th are training days for staff.

Half Term
Term ends Friday 20th October.
Boarders may leave after lessons on the 19th October or during the day on the 20th October.
Boarders return Sunday 29th by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.
Term starts Monday 30th October.
Term ends Thursday 21st December.

Boarders may leave after school/college on Wednesday 20th December BUT NOT BEFORE.  This arrangement is for those students flying home.  If students are travelling by car or train they may leave after lessons on the 20th December or during the day on Thursday 21st December.  Year 11, 12 & 13 students must check their exam timetables prior to making travel arrangements.

Spring Term 2018
Boarders return Monday 8th January by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.
Term starts Tuesday 9th January.
Please note this is NOT a misprint.
Monday 8th January is a training day for staff.
Term ends Friday 16th February.
Boarders may leave after lessons on Thursday 15th or during the day on the 16th if their journey requires considerable travelling.
Boarders return Sunday 25th February by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.
Term starts Monday 26th February.
Term ends Thursday 29th March.
Boarders may leave after lessons on Wednesday 28th or during the day on the 29th if their journey requires considerable travelling.

Summer Term 2018
Boarders return Sunday 15th April by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.
Term starts Monday 16th April.

 

Half Term
Term ends Friday 25th May.
Boarders may leave after lessons on Thursday 24th or during the day on the 25th if their journey requires considerable travelling.
Boarders return Sunday 3rd June by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.
Term starts Monday 4th June.
Term ends Friday 20th July.

Please see below.

Year 11 & 13 students may leave as soon as their last exam is finished.  (Please ensure they check their exam timetable thoroughly before booking flights).

Year 12 students who are not returning in Year 13 may also leave after their last exam.  Students continuing into Year 13 must complete their work experience – see below.

Years 7, 8, 9 students may leave on or after Wednesday 18th July BUT NOT BEFORE.  Adams House will close at 1pm on Friday 20th July.

Year 10 Work Experience is Monday 17th July – Friday 21st July.  Boarders may remain at Adams House to complete Work Experience within the Wem area or may leave AFTER SCHOOL on Friday 14th July and complete Work Experience at home.

Year 12 Work Experience is Monday 10th July – Friday 14th July.  Boarders may remain at Adams House to complete Work Experience within the Wem area or may leave AFTER SCHOOL on Friday 7th July and complete work experience at home.  The week beginning Monday 17th July is Reading Week for Year 12 – this may be completed at Adams House or at home.  Boarders wishing to complete Reading Week at home must ensure all work is collected before leaving Adams House.

 Parents are requested to adhere to holiday dates – failure to do so will seriously affect your child’s education and may result in them being withdrawn from certain subjects/examinations.

The Thomas Adams School
Lowe Hill
Wem
Shropshire
SY4 5UB

Telephone:
01939 237000