Boarding Term Dates

 

HOLIDAY DATES – 2017/2018

 

Spring Term 2018
Boarders return Monday 8th January by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.
Term starts Monday 8th January.
Friday 16th February is a training day for staff.
Term ends Thursday 15th February.
Boarders may leave after lessons on Thursday 15th or during the day on the 16th if their journey requires considerable travelling.
Boarders return Sunday 25th February by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.
Term starts Monday 26th February.
Term ends Thursday 29th March.
Boarders may leave after lessons on Wednesday 28th or during the day on the 29th if their journey requires considerable travelling.

Summer Term 2018
Boarders return Sunday 15th April by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.
Term starts Monday 16th April.

Half Term
Term ends Friday 25th May.
Boarders may leave after lessons on Thursday 24th or during the day on the 25th if their journey requires considerable travelling.
Boarders return Sunday 3rd June by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.
Term starts Monday 4th June.
Term ends Friday 20th July.

Please see below.

Year 11 & 13 students may leave as soon as their last exam is finished.  (Please ensure they check their exam timetable thoroughly before booking flights).

Year 12 students who are not returning in Year 13 may also leave after their last exam.  Students continuing into Year 13 must complete their work experience – see below.

Years 7, 8, 9 students may leave on or after Wednesday 18th July BUT NOT BEFORE.  Adams House will close at 1pm on Friday 20th July.

Year 10 Work Experience is Monday 17th July – Friday 21st July.  Boarders may remain at Adams House to complete Work Experience within the Wem area or may leave AFTER SCHOOL on Friday 14th July and complete Work Experience at home.

Year 12 Work Experience is Monday 10th July – Friday 14th July.  Boarders may remain at Adams House to complete Work Experience within the Wem area or may leave AFTER SCHOOL on Friday 7th July and complete work experience at home.  The week beginning Monday 17th July is Reading Week for Year 12 – this may be completed at Adams House or at home.  Boarders wishing to complete Reading Week at home must ensure all work is collected before leaving Adams House.

 Parents are requested to adhere to holiday dates – failure to do so will seriously affect your child’s education and may result in them being withdrawn from certain subjects/examinations.

HOLIDAY DATES – 2018/2019

Autumn Term 2018              Boarders return Tuesday 4th September by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.
Term starts Wednesday 5th September.

Please note this is NOT a misprint.

Monday 3rd and Tuesday 4th are training days for staff.
Half Term                          Term ends Thursday 25th October.

Boarders may leave after lessons on the 25th October or during the day on the 26th October.

There will be no lessons on 26th October – this is a PD day for staff.

Boarding will close at 1pm on 26th October.

Boarders return Sunday 4th November by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.

Term starts Monday 5th November.
Term ends Friday 21st December.

Boarders may leave after school/college on Wednesday 19th December BUT NOT BEFORE.  This arrangement is for those students flying home.  If students are travelling by car or train they may leave after lessons on the 20th December or during the day on Friday 21st December.  Year 11, 12 & 13 students must check their exam timetables prior to making travel arrangements.

Boarding will close at 1pm on Friday 21st December.

Spring Term 2019                 Boarders return Sunday 6th January by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.

Term starts Monday 7th January.
Term ends Friday 15th February.

Boarders may leave after lessons on Thursday 14th or during the day on the 15th if their journey requires considerable travelling.

Boarding will close at 5pm on 15th February.

Boarders return Monday 25th February by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.

Term starts Tuesday 26th February.

Please note this is NOT a misprint.

Monday 25th is a training day for staff.

Term ends Friday 12th April.

Boarders may leave after lessons on Thursday 11th or during the day on the 12th if their journey requires considerable travelling.

Boarding will close at 5pm on 12th April.

Summer Term 2019        Boarders return Sunday 28th April by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.

Term starts Monday 29th April.
Half Term                              Term ends Friday 24th May.

Boarders may leave after lessons on Thursday 23rd or during the day on the 24th if their journey requires considerable travelling.

Boarding will close at 5pm on 24th May.

Boarders return Sunday 2nd June by 5pm unless flight times do not permit.

Term starts Monday 3rd June.
Term ends Friday 19th July.

Please see below.

Year 11 & 13 students may leave as soon as their last exam is finished.  (Please ensure they check their exam timetable thoroughly before booking flights).

Year 12 students who are not returning in Year 13 may also leave after their last exam.  Students continuing into Year 13 must complete their work experience – see below.

Years 7, 8, 9 students may leave on or after Wednesday 17th July BUT NOT BEFORE.  Adams House will close at 1pm on Friday 19th July.

Year 10 Work Experience is Monday 15th July – Friday 19th July. This is a provisional date, please check prior to making any travel arrangements. Boarders may remain at Adams House to complete Work Experience within the Wem area or may leave AFTER SCHOOL on Friday 13th July and complete Work Experience at home.

Year 12 Work Experience is Monday 8th July – Friday 12th July. This is a provisional date, please check prior to making any travel arrangements. Boarders may remain at Adams House to complete Work Experience within the Wem area or may leave AFTER SCHOOL on Friday 5th July and complete work experience at home.  The week beginning Monday 15th July is Reading Week for Year 12 – this may be completed at Adams House or at home.  Boarders wishing to complete Reading Week at home must ensure all work is collected before leaving Adams House.

 Parents are requested to adhere to holiday dates – failure to do so will seriously affect your child’s education and may result in them being withdrawn from certain subjects/examinations.

BOARDERS NAME ___________________________________________________

  • I have read the information on holiday dates.
  • I agree to adhere to these dates (the only exception being Isles of Scilly students who cannot fly on a Sunday).
  • I will inform Mrs Cooper in writing if, for any reason my son/daughter needs to leave early or arrive back late.

Signed ___________________________________         Date ___________________

The Thomas Adams School
Lowe Hill
Wem
Shropshire
SY4 5UB

Telephone:
01939 237000