House System

The houses are named after local hills.

The Houses exist to promote leadership and responsibility amongst more senior students and to encourage involvement, teamwork, co-operation and good discipline amongst all students.

On entry to Thomas Adams, all students become members of a House and will be required to do their best for that House via their work in lessons and their commitment to extra-curricular activities.

Each House is led by a Head of House, who is a member of staff whom oversees the House’s progress. In addition, each House has the following student captains from Year 11 and Year 10;

House Captain
Vice Captain for Year 11 and 10
Health & Sports Captains
Environment Captain

Each year, the seven Houses will compete to win the House Cup Award. This is given to the House that accumulates the most House Points.

The 2017-18 House Captains are listed below.


Head of House: Mr Stokes

House Captain: Ewen Berube

Vice Captain Year 11: Cai Edwards

Vice Captain Year 10: Danielle Cooper

Sports Captain: Naomi Jones

Sports Captain: Max Chester

Environment Captain: James Compton



Head of House: Mr Carney

House Captain: Meg Hardiman

Vice Captain Year 11: Ed Logan

Vice Captain Year 10: Sophie Vernon

Sports Captain: Harriet Allday

Sports Captain: Alex Cadman

Environment Captain: Daisy Peile



Head of House: Miss Devismes / Mrs Rogers

House Captain: William Rollo

Vice Captain Year 11: Joe Robinson

Vice Captain Year 10: Ellie Rogers

Sports Captain: Jack Benson

Sports Captain: Thomas Ash

Environment Captain: Kayleigh Waterhouse



Head of House: Mr Gilbert

House Captain: Amber Coxill

Vice Captain Year 11: Tom Watts

Vice Captain Year 10: Poppy Dowley

Sports Captain: Luke Alexander

Sports Captain: Sophie Hughes

Environment Captain: Phillipa Greenwood


Head of House: Mrs Kempster

House Captain: Summer Shaw

Vice Captain Year 11: Jess Williamson

Vice Captain Year 10: Maya Balachandran

Sports Captain: Beth Callaghan

Sports Captain: Max Millerchip

Environment Captain: Aaron Swain


Head of House: Mrs Kenyon

House Captain: Boo Hobbs

Vice Captain Year 11: Abbie Threadgold

Vice Captain Year 10: Sam Paul

Sports Captain: Tayson Ruppert

Sports Captain: Poppy Roberts

Environment Captain: Meg Bailey


Head of House: Mr Dodd

House Captain: Eleanor Minns

Vice Captain Year 11: Dean Preece

Vice Captain Year 10: Tilly Penlington

Sports Captain: Joe Rowley

Sports Captain: Abi Heath

Environment Captain: Dom Ricci

The Thomas Adams School
Lowe Hill

01939 237000